Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

2021 National Eye Institute (NEI) Awards

A message from Dr. Michael Chaing, Director, National Eye Institute.

Thumbnail of 2021 National Eye Institute (NEI) Awards video


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

Adaptive Optics Imaging Group

For strengthening multidisciplinary NIH-FDA collaborative research in biomedical instrumentation leading to the development and implementation of state-of-the-art adaptive optics imaging at NEI and FDA.

  • Anant Agrawal, NEI
  • Nancy Aguilera Zavala, NEI
  • Andrew J. Bower, NEI
  • Brian P. Brooks, NEI
  • Catherine A. Cukras, NEI
  • Guy E. Foster, NEI
  • Daniel Hammer, NEI
  • Laryssa A. Huryn, NEI
  • Joanne Li, NEI
  • Jianfei Liu, NEI
  • Tao Liu, NEI
  • Zhuolin Liu, NEI
  • Osamah J. Saeedi, NEI
  • Johnny Chao-C. Tam, NEI
  • Wadih M. Zein, NEI

Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For exceptional vision, initiative and leadership in the animal care and use program at the NIH.

  • James M. Raber, NEI


Administrative Group Awards

NEI Property Service Center Team

In recognition of extraordinary initiative and leadership in improving the NEI Property Service Center Operations and benefit of the NIH environment.

  • Justin A. Barksdale, NEI
  • Walter T. Davis, NEI
  • Billy R. Eatmon, NEI
  • Felton W. George, NEI
  • Danielle L. Payne, NEI
  • Scarleth M. Perez Perez, NEI
  • Jessica R. Ryan, NEI

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Cheryl L. Wiggs, NEI


  • Donald F. Everett, NEI
  • Shaojian Gao, NEI
  • Kerry E. Goetz, NEI
  • Shefa D. Gordon, NEI
  • William F. Montgomery, NEI
  • Cheryl L. Wiggs, NEI
  • Nora M. Wong, NEI