Skip to main content

2022 Fogarty International Center (FIC) Awards

A message from Dr. Roger Glass, Director, Fogarty International Center.

Thumbnail of 2022 Fogarty International Center (FIC) Awards video


Administrative Group Awards


For outstanding teamwork in hosting an exceptional virtual 2021 NIH Combined Federal Campaign that exceeded expectations by raising over $2M for participating charities.

  • Dexter Collins, FIC
  • Jonathan Deane, OD
  • Mariah Felipe, FIC
  • Debra Gale, OD
  • Leonardo Garzon-Velez, FIC
  • Monica Godoy Hanson, OD
  • Shakia Miller, FIC
  • Jacqueline Officer, FIC
  • Marcia Smith, FIC
  • Alisha Sutton, FIC
  • Myra Thomas, FIC
  • Vivian Wang, FIC

Administrative Individual Awards

For exceptional planning, development, and coordination of FIC's health and wellness program.

  • Alisha Sutton, FIC

Common Fund Leadership

Common Fund Leadership Group Awards

DS-I Africa Common Fund Leadership Team

For contributions to the design, implementation, and leadership of a groundbreaking Common Fund Initiative on data science and innovation to improve health in Africa.

  • Ishwar Chandramouliswaran, OD
  • James Churchill, NIMH
  • Gifty Dankyi, FIC
  • Judy Gichoya, NIBIB
  • Tiffani Lash, NIBIB
  • Amit Mistry, FIC
  • Bradley Newsome, FIC
  • Mariaconcepcion Nierras, OD
  • Laura Povlich, FIC

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Cecile Viboud, FIC

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Dexter Collins, FIC
  • Leonardo Garzon-Velez, FIC