Skip to main content

2022 National Institute on Aging (NIA) Awards

A message from Dr. Richard Hodes, Director, National Institute on Aging.

Thumbnail of 2022 National Institute on Aging (NIA) Awards video


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

CARD Contributors

For extraordinary dedication and teamwork to support the creation of the Center for Alzheimer's and Related Dementias (CARD).

  • Sara Bandres Ciga, NIA
  • Cornelis Blauwendraat, NIA
  • Sandra Frankton, NIA
  • Jamie Hertzfelt, NIA
  • Gabor Konkoly-Thege, OD
  • Sarah Lewis, NIA
  • Michael Nalls, NIA
  • Michael O'Donnell, NIA
  • Caroline Pantazis, NIA
  • Angela Prazak, NIA
  • Julia Stadler, NIA
  • Mitchell Taragin, OD
  • Nicole Washecka, NIA


Administrative Group Awards

NIH Aging and Adult Dependent Care Committee

For their continued commitment to develop focused initiatives on aging, and adult-dependent-care programs and enhance resources and services to address needs of NIH employees.

  • Joseph Balintfy, NIA
  • Jill Bartholomew, NCI
  • Virgilio Bundoc, NIAID
  • Christopher Gaines, OD
  • Deborah Henken, NICHD
  • Martina Lavrisha, CC
  • Dawn Lea, NHGRI
  • Cooper McLendon, NIA
  • Carla Mells, OD
  • Melissa Porter, NCI
  • Mark Rubert, CSR
  • Diana Rutberg, NIDCR
  • Dani Xi, NCI

NIH Small Business: Workshop Series and Company Showcase Program

For exceptional efforts launching a robust workshop series and company showcase program to facilitate the growth and promotion of the NIH small business applicant community.

  • Jordan Broderick, NIA
  • Emily Caporello, NINDS
  • Sara Dauber, NINDS
  • Stephanie Davis, NHLBI
  • Chelsea Dinneny, NIA
  • Todd Haim, NIA
  • Diane Ignar, NIA
  • Olivia Kent, NIA
  • Saroj Regmi, NIA
  • John Reinhart, NIA
  • Sarah Robinson Schwartz, NINDS
  • Kathleen Rousche, NHLBI
  • Christy Sasiela, OD
  • Joy Toliver, NIA
  • Natalie Trzcinski, NINDS

Administrative Individual Awards

In recognition of exemplary achievements to improve reporting processes while serving as Acting Director of NIA's Office of Legislation, Policy, and International Activities.

  • Dawn Beraud, NIA

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Hongwei Gao, NIA
  • Emerald Nguyen, NIA


  • Patricia Jones, NIA
  • Helen Nielsen, NIA


  • Melissa Espinoza, NIA
  • Michele Evans, NIA
  • Patricia Jones, NIA
  • Emerald Nguyen, NIA