Skip to main content

2012 National Eye Institute (NEI) Awards


Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For Leading NEI's Effort on the AMDGene Consortium.

  • Hemin R. Chin, NEI


Administrative Group Awards

NEI Team Save

For exceptional effort in identifying $2 million in administrative cost savings to be used for reinvestment in NEI's science mission.

  • Neyal J. Ammary Risch, NEI
  • Robert N. Fariss, NEI
  • Denise J. Huttenlocker, NEI
  • James K. Keating, NEI
  • Ellen S. Liberman, NEI
  • Elizabeth C. Murphy, NEI
  • William R. O'Donnell, NEI
  • David P. Rice, NEI
  • Jason A. Shockey, NEI
  • Eric F. Wawrousek, NEI
  • David L. Whitmer, NEI

Administrative Individual Awards

In recognition of his extraordinary veterinary services and program management to the NIH community and his dedication to constant improvement of animal care and use.

  • James M. Raber, NEI

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Sarah Sohraby, NEI

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Neeraj Agarwal, NEI
  • Thomas N. Greenwell, NEI