Skip to main content

2012 National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Awards


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

The NIAMS Community Health Center Initiative

For exceptional leadership in delivery of compassionate and cost-effective care, clinical research, and teaching at the NIAMS Community Health Center.

  • Alice M. Fike, NIAMS
  • Mark F. Gourley, NIAMS
  • Barbara B. Mittleman, OD
  • Isabel A. Ochoa-Navas, NIAMS
  • Johanna C. Urdinola, NIAMS
  • Michael M. Ward, NIAMS

Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For exemplary leadership in advancing research on the fundamental mechanisms regulating chromatin architecture and gene expression in health and diseases.

  • Vittorio Sartorelli, NIAMS


Administrative Group Awards

The NIAMS National Multicultural Outreach Initiative

In recognition of outstanding efforts in establishing the NIAMS National Multicultural Outreach Initiative, dedicated to reaching underserved racial and ethnic populations.

  • Robert H. Carter, NIAMS
  • Kaitaia H. Fu, CC
  • Gerda D. Gallop-Goodman, NIAMS
  • Nancy A. Garrick, NIAMS
  • Gayle E. Lester, NIAMS
  • Anita M. Linde, NIAMS
  • Ethelinda M. Lising, NIAMS
  • Melanie M. Martinez, NIAMS
  • Patricia L. Reynolds, NIAMS
  • Allisen B. Stewart, NIAMS
  • Gwenyth R. Wallen, CC
  • Michael M. Ward, NIAMS
  • Sara R. Wilson, NIAMS

Administrative Individual Awards

In recognition for outstanding service to the NIAMS Intramural Research Program.

  • Joan L. Mancuso, NIAMS