Skip to main content

2014 National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Awards


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

PPB Stillbirth Research Team

For leadership in conducting and guiding research on the epidemiology, etiology, and diagnosis of stillbirths, and building a Scientific foundation for developing stillbirth prevention strategies.

  • Uma M. Reddy, NICHD
  • Marian Willinger, NICHD

Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For her expert contribution to neonatal research, leadership in development of complex clinical trials, and leading NIH Scientific responses to inquiries concerning neonatal trials.

  • Rosemary D. Higgins, NICHD

In recognition of her pioneering work in elucidating a group of small RNA molecules involved in membrane protein regulation, missed by traditional assays and screens.

  • Gisela T. Storz, NICHD


Administrative Group Awards

NIH LGBTI Working Group Leadership

For organizing, leading, managing and directing the NIH-wide LGBTI Health Research Working Group which is entering its second year of existence.

  • Rashada C. Alexander, OD
  • Nathaniel Stinson, NIMHD
  • Elizabeth J. Wehr, NICHD

Administrative Individual Awards

For her dedication and commitment to the NICHD and NIH Acquisitions Community.

  • Olga M. Acosta Polston, NICHD

For dedication and leadership in identifying best practices and increasing diversity at the NICHD and NIH.

  • Kathleen G. Stephan, NICHD

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Jack A. Yanovski, NICHD

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Shavon M. Artis, NICHD


  • Ari J. Benjaminson, NICHD


  • Steven E. Norris, NICHD
  • Rebecca J. Preston, NICHD


  • Alan E. Guttmacher, NICHD
  • Rosemary D. Higgins, NICHD
  • John S. Jarman, NICHD
  • Yvonne T. Maddox, NICHD
  • Lynnette K. Nieman, NICHD
  • Mona J. Rowe, NICHD
  • Catherine Y. Spong, NICHD