Skip to main content

2015 National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Awards


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

National Pain Strategy Group

For the cross-organizational efforts to develop the National Pain Strategy which seeks to reduce the prevalence of pain disorders and reduce the burden of pain.

  • Chester Buckenmaier Iii, NINDS
  • Charles Helmick Iii, NINDS
  • Sharon Hertz, NINDS
  • Audrey Kusiak, NINDS
  • John W. Kusiak, NIDCR
  • Story C. Landis, NINDS
  • Lauren N. Love, NINDS
  • Sean C. Mackey, NINDS
  • Susan E. Maier, OD
  • Linda L. Porter, NINDS
  • Richard Ricciardi, NINDS
  • Cheryse A. Sankar, NINDS
  • Tara A. Schwetz, OD
  • David A. Thomas, NIDA
  • Salina P. Waddy, NINDS

Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For paradigm shifting research in mitochondrial dynamics and cell death leading to new insights about neurodegenerative disease and new therapeutic strategies.

  • Richard J. Youle, NINDS

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Mark Hallett, NINDS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Avindra Nath, NINDS
  • Sally R. Steinbach, NINDS
  • Rita Volochayev, NINDS


  • Margaret L. Sutherland, NINDS


  • John D. Heiss, NINDS
  • Ariane G. Soldatos, NINDS


  • William C. Benzing, NINDS
  • Mihaela C. Frincu, NINDS
  • William E. Lyons, NINDS
  • Birgit Neuhuber, NINDS
  • Shantadurg Rajaram, NINDS
  • Raul A. Saavedra, NINDS
  • Varsha Shukla, NINDS
  • Natalia V. Strunnikova, NINDS
  • Elizabeth A. Webber, NINDS


  • Courtney F. Aklin, NINDS
  • Stephanie J. Fertig, NINDS
  • Rebecca A. Roof, NINDS
  • Shai D. Silberberg, NINDS