Skip to main content

2016 National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) Awards


Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For exceptional leadership of the joint NIH and Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation efforts to accelerate development of point-of-care medical technologies for global health.

  • Tiffani Lash, NIBIB

For extraordinary creativity and dedication leading to dramatic and widely adopted improvements in high-resolution optical microscopy, including creation of the first photoactivatable green fluorescent protein.

  • George Patterson, NIBIB

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Paul Smith, NIBIB


  • Vinay Pai, NIBIB
  • Grace Peng, NIBIB


  • Richard Conroy, NIBIB
  • Roderic Pettigrew, NIBIB


  • Christine Cooper, NIBIB
  • Michael Dellarco, NIBIB
  • Jill Heemskerk, NIBIB
  • Christine Kelley, NIBIB