Skip to main content

2016 National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Awards


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

Naloxone Team

For outstanding performance in the development of an FDA approved form of intranasal naloxone (Narcan Nasal Spray) for the treatment of opioid overdose.

  • Chia Whei N. Chiang, NIDA
  • Shwe M. Gyaw, NIDA
  • Philip A. Krieter, NIDA
  • David J. Mccann, NIDA
  • Moo Park, NIDA
  • Robert L. Walsh, NIDA

Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For discovery challenging 2 dogmas: 'Signaling of one neurotransmitter per neuron' and 'Dorsal raphe nucleus signaling by serotonergic neurotransmission', prevailing over 50 years.

  • Marisela Morales, NIDA


Administrative Individual Awards

In recognition of extraordinary leadership, vision, and hard work in facilitating collaborative research on addiction at NIH.

  • Susan Weiss, NIDA

Common Fund Leadership

Common Fund Leadership Individual Awards

For remarkable scientific leadership and performance in developing, managing, and promoting multiple Common Fund initiatives.

  • John Satterlee, NIDA

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Roger Sorensen, NIDA


  • Alvin Little, NIDA


  • Cheryl Boyce, NIDA
  • Maureen Boyle, NIDA
  • Kathleen Etz, NIDA
  • Michele Rankin, NIDA
  • Geetha Subramaniam, NIDA