Skip to main content

2016 National Library of Medicine (NLM) Awards

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • George Thoma, NLM


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

Evolutionary Genomics Research Group

For their work on discovery and functional classification of diverse Class 2 CRISPR-Cas systems.

  • Eugene Koonin, NLM
  • Kira Makarova, NLM
  • Sergey Shmakov, NLM
  • Yuri Wolf, NLM

Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

For exemplary leadership and creative engineering in developing an automated chest x-ray screening system for tuberculosis and deploying it in Africa.

  • Sameer Antani, NLM

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Stacey Arnesen, NLM
  • Cynthia Love, NLM


  • Renee Jellerette Stainback, NLM
  • Barbara Rapp, NLM