Skip to main content

2017 National Eye Institute (NEI) Awards


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

Pioneering Induced Pluripotent Stem (IPS) Cell Technology To Treat AMD Team

In recognition of developing pioneering cell-based technologies using Induced Pluripotent Stem (IPS) cells to treat blinding eye diseases.

  • Juan A. Amaral, NEI
  • Kapil Bharti, NEI
  • Irina Bunea, NEI
  • Ashley L. Butler, NEI
  • Maria M. Campos, NEI
  • Justin Chang, NEI
  • Kristi N. Creel, NEI
  • Roba G. Dejene, NEI
  • Nathan A. Hotaling, NEI
  • Fang Hua, NEI
  • Balendu S. Jha, NEI
  • Vladimir R. Khristov, NEI
  • Yichao Li, NEI
  • Nathaniel S. Linde, NEI
  • Arthur J. Maclarty, NEI
  • David W. Mallon, NEI
  • Arvydas Maminishkis, NEI
  • Victor L. Mclean, NEI
  • Kiyoharu J. Miyagishima, NEI
  • Theodore J. Plemons, NEI
  • Haohua Qian, NEI
  • Jiaqiang Ren, CC
  • Aaron C. Rising, NEI
  • Fred J. Rogers, CC
  • Fnu Ruchi, NEI
  • Ginger Tansey, NEI
  • Aditi Thakkar, NEI
  • Qin Wan, NEI
  • Congxiao Zhang, NEI

Scientific/Medical Individual Awards

In recognition of pioneering research on the neuronal basis of vision and its relation to cognitive function in non-human primates.

  • Robert H. Wurtz, NEI

The Alan S. Rabson Award for Clinical Care

The Alan S. Rabson Award for Clinical Care Individual Awards

For scientific and medical excellence and the outstanding, compassionate care for patients and those who love them.

  • Brian P. Brooks, NEI

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Matthew G. Montano, NEI


  • Lilly A. Sadler, NEI
  • Yireiza A. Williams, NEI
  • Jerome R. Wujek, NEI