Skip to main content

2018 National Eye Institute (NEI) Awards


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

Eyegene Ogl Realignment Team

In recognition of extraordinary laboratory efforts to transition, re-align priorities and improve operations of the OGVFB Ophthalmic Genomics Laboratory.

  • Chelsea Bender, NEI
  • Robert Hufnagel, NEI
  • Andrew Hughes, NEI
  • Rebecca Parrish, NEI
  • Melissa Reeves, NEI

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Santa J. Tumminia, NEI

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Ellen Liberman, NEI


  • Steven M. Becker, NEI
  • Michael Steinmetz, NEI


  • Thomas N. Greenwell, NEI
  • Cheri I. Wiggs, NEI


  • David M. Schneeweis, NEI


  • Trevor Peterson, NEI
  • Brian Trent, NEI