Skip to main content

2020 National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Awards

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Lawrence J. Fine, NHLBI


Administrative Group Awards

R35 Working Group

For exemplary teamwork, collaboration, and communication during the renewal and subsequent development of outcome metrics and measures for the R35 Program.

  • Ebyan A. Addou, NHLBI
  • Anthony J. Agresti, NHLBI
  • Narasimhan S. Danthi, NHLBI
  • Rosa L. Hugo, NHLBI
  • Andrei L. Kindzelski, NHLBI
  • Megan S. Mitchell, NHLBI
  • Melissa H. Nagelin, NHLBI
  • Eric W. Padmore, NHLBI
  • Kristen Page, NHLBI
  • Dana A. Phares, NHLBI
  • Lisa A. Postow, NHLBI
  • Yang Zhou, NHLBI

Administrative Individual Awards

For your work putting together the Triennial Inclusion Report earlier this year, and assisting in the assembly of the NIH inclusion data.

  • Katherine H. Kavounis, NHLBI


Scientific/Medical Group Awards

NIH Extramural Response Team: E-Cigarettes, Vaping, And Evali

In recognition of exceptional expertise, effort, and effectiveness in organizing NIH activities to study emerging health threats related to use of e-cigarettes and vaping.

  • Heather L. Kimmel, NIDA
  • Rachel A. Mayne, NCI
  • Lisa A. Postow, NHLBI
  • Catherine M. Stoney, NHLBI

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Youngsuk Oh, NHLBI


  • William J. Johnson, NHLBI


  • Keir C. Neuman, NHLBI
  • Justin W. Taraska, NHLBI


  • Denis B. Buxton, NHLBI
  • Jue Chen, NHLBI
  • Ronald Q. Warren, NHLBI


  • Jean E. Berube, NHLBI
  • Mary E. Groesch, NHLBI
  • William K. Hoots, NHLBI
  • Joel Islam, NHLBI
  • Amy Pate Patterson, NHLBI
  • Allan Shipp, NHLBI
  • John F. Tisdale, NHLBI