Skip to main content

2023 National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Awards

A message from Dr. Joni Rutter, Director, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences.

Emerging Leaders

Individual Awards

For her leadership in establishing a platform of 3D tissue models at NIH to study viral infections and anti-viral drug screening.

  • Emily Lee, NCATS

Scientific/Medical - Research

Group Awards


For the conception and development of RARe-SOURCE, an innovative bioinformatics data platform to facilitate therapeutic discovery and advance translational science more quickly for rare diseases.

  • Jackie Collins, NIAID
  • An Dang Do, NICHD
  • Sharie Haugabook, NCATS
  • Richa Lomash, NCATS
  • Uma Mudunuri, NCI
  • Elizabeth Ottinger, NCATS
  • Forbes D. Porter, NICHD
  • Cara Purdy, NCATS
  • Gregory Tawa, NCATS
  • London Toney, NCATS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Audie Atienza, NCATS
  • Joshua Fessel, NCATS
  • Kenneth Gersing, NCATS
  • Michael G. Kurilla, NCATS
  • Samuel Michael, NCATS


  • Philip Brooks, NCATS
  • Marilyn L. Moore-Hoon, NCATS
  • Deanna Portero, NCATS
  • Tiina Urv, NCATS


  • Penny Burgoon, NCATS
  • Joan Nagel, NCATS
  • Eric Wk. Sid, NCATS