Skip to main content

2023 National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Awards

A message from Dr. Griffin Rodgers, Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Barbara Linder, NIDDK


Group Awards

NIDDK Strategic Plan Recruitment Team

For strategic planning and successful execution of 32 recruitments into 18 NIH Intramural Position Descriptions on an accelerated timeline to meet IHS and NIH goals.

  • Rebecca Borawski, NIDDK
  • Elise M. DiSciullo, NIDDK
  • Kevin Fletcher-Velasco, OD
  • Christine Hatley, OD
  • Jeanira Johnson, OD
  • Michele Nelson, NIDDK
  • Joy Reding, OD
  • Katie Tucker, NIDDK

Individual Awards

For showing extraordinary leadership, encouraging growth and collaboration, and improving operations in support of the NIH Mission.

  • Lynn Oundo, NIDDK

Customer Service

Group Awards

NIDDK Meeting Support Team

For providing exceptional customer service in support of the NIH Mission.

  • Romie Barnes, NIDDK
  • Burnel Wilkins, NIDDK

Emerging Leaders

Individual Awards

For providing exceptional leadership and contributing to the growth of others in commitment to furthering the NIH Mission.

  • Audra Harrison, NIDDK

Mission Support

Individual Awards

For dedication and determination to providing exceptional support of the NIH Mission.

  • Candy Caraballo, NIDDK

Scientific/Medical - Clinical Care

Group Awards

NIDDK iPSC Protocol Group

For developing protocol to generate human iPSC-derived, glucose responsive beta cells to explore the mechanism of therapies for gene variants contributing to type-2 diabetes.

  • Leslie Baier, NIDDK
  • Anup Nair, NIDDK

Clinical Research Informatics System Deployment Team

For extraordinary initiative, outstanding contribution, and performance beyond regular duty requirements to deploy an electronic health record at PECRB, NIDDK.

  • Seth Carlson, CC
  • Maureen Clark, NIDDK
  • Patricia Coffey, CC
  • Thomas DiRodis Jr., NIDDK
  • Courtney R. Duncan, NIDDK
  • Jeannette Kim, NIDDK
  • Joyce Linderman, NIDDK
  • Jon W. McKeeby, CC
  • Theresa Rodzevik, NIDDK
  • Sheila Smith, NIDDK
  • James Welch, NIDDK

Scientific/Medical - Research

Group Awards

Special Diabetes Program TrialNet Team

In recognition of efforts and expertise in leading the TrialNet program and contributing greatly to the 1st approved disease modifying therapy of Type 1 Diabetes.

  • Ellen Leschek, NIDDK
  • Lisa M. Spain, NIDDK

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Jean Lawrence, NIDDK


  • Jennifer Norton, NIDDK
  • Pamela Thornton, NIDDK


  • Miranda Broadney, NIDDK
  • Angel De La Cruz Landrau, NIDDK
  • Dolores D. Doherty, NIDDK
  • Raquel Greer, NIDDK
  • Neha Shah, NIDDK
  • Robert A. Star, NIDDK
  • Julie Wallace, NIDDK
  • Xujing Wang, NIDDK