Skip to main content

2023 National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Awards

A message from Dr. Walter Koroshetz, Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.

Customer Service

Individual Awards

For providing leadership for NINDS public inquiry response and exceptional customer service to the patients, caregivers, and community we serve.

  • Natalie Frazin, NINDS

Emerging Leaders

Individual Awards

For outstanding leadership in the creation of a clinical research coordinator training and mentorship program, available to NINDS and other ICs.

  • Rosemarie Cuento, NINDS

Common Fund Leadership

Group Awards

The Somatic Cell Genome Editing (SCGE) Program Team

For exemplary leadership and outstanding management of Phase 1 of the Somatic Cell Genome Editing Program, and seamlessly launching Phase 2 of the program.

  • Angela Ambrosi, OD
  • Tatjana Atanasijevic, NIBIB
  • Christoffel Boshoff, NINDS
  • Philip Brooks, NCATS
  • Emily Carifi, NIAMS
  • Colin F. Fletcher, NHGRI
  • Allison Gillaspy, NHLBI
  • Marrah Lachowicz-Scroggins, NHLBI
  • Timothy M. Lavaute, NINDS
  • Oleg Mirochnitchenko, OD
  • Sonynka Ngosso, OD
  • Julia Oreilly, NINDS
  • Betty Poon, NIAID
  • Deanna Portero, NCATS
  • Pankaj Qasba, NHLBI
  • Felicia Qashu, OD

Common Fund Unsung Heroes

Group Awards

Undiagnosed Disease Network Sustainability Transition Team

For outstanding teamwork, creativity, and responsiveness to opportunities to enhance sustainability for the Undiagnosed Disease Network.

  • Karrah Benson, NINDS
  • Heather Colley, NHGRI
  • Jyoti Dayal, NHGRI
  • Argenia Doss, NINDS
  • David Eckstein, OD
  • Sarah Hutchison, NHGRI
  • Deanna L. Ingersoll, NHGRI
  • Donna M. Krasnewich-Vostal, NIGMS
  • Crystal Lee, NINDS
  • Laura A. Mamounas, NINDS
  • Teri Manolio, NHGRI
  • Marilyn L. Moore-Hoon, NCATS
  • Mariaconcepcion Nierras, OD
  • Melissa Parisi, NICHD
  • Tiina Urv, NCATS
  • Shellie M. Wilburn, NINDS

Mission Support

Individual Awards

For valiant display of heroism in response to major flood events in the Porter Neuroscience Research Center, protecting critical scientific infrastructure and ensuring staff safety.

  • Kristopher Sharer, NINDS

Scientific/Medical - Clinical Care

Individual Awards

For exceptional dedication and a seamless transition leading the Neurology Consult Service in a time of a staff shortage, ensuring its continuity and success.

  • Lindsey Gustafson, NINDS

Scientific/Medical - Research

Group Awards

ALS Strategic Planning and Act for ALS Implementation Team

For exceptional leadership, teamwork, and public engagement during strategic planning to address research priorities for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and ACT for ALS implementation.

  • Jenna Bauer, OD
  • Jennifer Bazinet, OD
  • Emily Caporello, NINDS
  • Robin A. Conwit, NINDS
  • Amelie Gubitz, NINDS
  • Christopher Hammond, OD
  • Jane Hettinger, NINDS
  • Brenda Kibler, NINDS
  • Lydia Kline, OD
  • David Kosub, OD
  • William Lyons, NINDS
  • Carlo Quintanilla, OD
  • Lumy Sawaki-Adams, NINDS
  • Christine Torborg, NINDS
  • Samantha White, NINDS
  • Shellie M. Wilburn, NINDS

Individual Awards

For seminal contributions to the understanding of axonal mitochondrial and lysosomal transport and maintenance of bioenergetics and cellular homeostasis in synaptic transmission and neural regeneration.

  • Zu-Hang Sheng, NINDS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Richard Benson, NINDS
  • Stacey Chambers, NINDS


  • Janelle Letzen, NINDS
  • Leah Pogorzala, NINDS
  • Linda L. Porter, NINDS
  • Laura Wandner, NINDS


  • Ryan Calabrese, NINDS
  • Alissa Gallagher, NINDS
  • Barbara Karp, NINDS
  • Barbara McMakin, NINDS
  • Lumy Sawaki-Adams, NINDS
  • Clinton Wright, NINDS


  • Noam Keren, NINDS
  • Kristopher Sharer, NINDS


  • Richard Benson, NINDS
  • Carolina Mendoza-Puccini, NINDS


  • Richard Benson, NINDS
  • Sara Dodson, NINDS
  • Jordan Gladman, NINDS
  • Michelle Jones-London, NINDS
  • Ryan Richardson, NINDS