Skip to main content

2012 National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2012 award results. See awards for the current year.


Group Awards

The NIAMS National Multicultural Outreach Initiative

In recognition of outstanding efforts in establishing the NIAMS National Multicultural Outreach Initiative, dedicated to reaching underserved racial and ethnic populations.

  • Robert H. Carter, NIAMS
  • Kaitaia H. Fu, CC
  • Gerda D. Gallop-Goodman, NIAMS
  • Nancy A. Garrick, NIAMS
  • Gayle E. Lester, NIAMS
  • Anita M. Linde, NIAMS
  • Ethelinda M. Lising, NIAMS
  • Melanie M. Martinez, NIAMS
  • Patricia L. Reynolds, NIAMS
  • Allisen B. Stewart, NIAMS
  • Gwenyth R. Wallen, CC
  • Michael M. Ward, NIAMS
  • Sara R. Wilson, NIAMS

Individual Awards

In recognition for outstanding service to the NIAMS Intramural Research Program.

  • Joan L. Mancuso, NIAMS


Group Awards

The NIAMS Community Health Center Initiative

For exceptional leadership in delivery of compassionate and cost-effective care, clinical research, and teaching at the NIAMS Community Health Center.

  • Alice M. Fike, NIAMS
  • Mark F. Gourley, NIAMS
  • Barbara B. Mittleman, OD
  • Isabel A. Ochoa-Navas, NIAMS
  • Johanna C. Urdinola, NIAMS
  • Michael M. Ward, NIAMS

Individual Awards

For exemplary leadership in advancing research on the fundamental mechanisms regulating chromatin architecture and gene expression in health and diseases.

  • Vittorio Sartorelli, NIAMS