Skip to main content

2013 National Institute on Aging (NIA) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2013 award results. See awards for the current year.


Group Awards

GRC Project Team

In recognition of exceptional leadership and efforts associated with the Gerontology Research Center Building Project.

  • Foster K. Awuku, OD
  • Taryn E. Ayoub, NIA
  • Jeffery Battle, OD
  • Gopinath K. Boray, OD
  • Sharon A. Bruce, OD
  • James H. Carscadden, OD
  • Francis A. Clifford, OD
  • Romaine Cole, OD
  • Larry W. Collins, NIA
  • Josephine M. Earley, NIA
  • Luigi Ferrucci, NIA
  • Kenneth W. Fishbein, NIA
  • Caran R. Fizer, NIA
  • William K. Floyd, OD
  • Alberta M. Galek, NIA
  • Gregg Gnipp, OD
  • Jennifer L. Hartzell, OD
  • Robert C. Horsch, OD
  • Fred E. Indig, NIA
  • Thomas C. Judy, OD
  • James S. Koehler, OD
  • David W. Lankford, OD
  • Kevin J. Little, NIA
  • Alfred W. May, NIA
  • Deborah J. Mcgovern, NIA
  • James T. Miller, OD
  • Derek A. Newcomer, OD
  • Laurenti K. Ngutter, OD
  • Michael D. O'Donnell, NIA
  • Robert J. Ostrowski, OD
  • Donna M. Ouellet, OD
  • Kathy A. Perdue-Greenfield, NIA
  • Raymond A. Phelps, OD
  • Frank J. Piatkowski, OD
  • James G. Pitt, OD
  • Pat J. Rice, OD
  • Kristine E. Rozankowski, NIA
  • Louis M. Schechter, NIA
  • Patrick A. Shirdon, NIA
  • Steven J. Sollott, NIA
  • Harold A. Spurgeon, NIA
  • David M. Voss, NIA
  • Charles A. Weber, NIA
  • Robert P. Wersto, NIA


Group Awards

Alzheimer's Disease Group

In recognition for the planning and implementation of an AD research initiative in response to the National Alzheimer's Plan.

  • Neil S. Buckholtz, NIA
  • Cerise L. Elliott, NIA
  • Adam L. Felsenfeld, NHGRI
  • Tamara Jones, NIA
  • Richard J. King, OD
  • Charlene A. Liggins, NIA
  • Marilyn M. Miller, NIA
  • Suzana S. Petanceska, NIA
  • Creighton H. Phelps, NIA
  • Lawrence M. Refolo, NIA
  • Laurie M. Ryan, NIA
  • Nina B. Silverberg, NIA
  • David S. Snyder, NIA
  • Terrie R. Wheeler, OD

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Basil A. Eldadah, NIA


  • Winifred K. Rossi, NIA