Skip to main content

2013 National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2013 award results. See awards for the current year.


Group Awards

Step-Up Web Portal Team

For the development of the Short Term Education Program for Underrepresented Persons (STEP-UP) Web Portal to improve reporting on the performance of the program.

  • Jennifer S. Curry, NIDDK
  • Debasis Goswami, NIDDK
  • Delia L. Houseal, NIDDK
  • Bijan Mashayekhi, NIDDK
  • Matthew S. White, NIDDK


Group Awards

DHHS Viral Hepatitis Research Plan Group

For outstanding contributions to the development and implementation of the DHHS Action Plan for the Prevention, Care & Treatment of Viral Hepatitis.

  • Edward C. Doo, NIDDK
  • Jay H. Hoofnagle, NIDDK
  • Jody L. Nurik, NIDDK
  • Averell H. Sherker, NIDDK
  • Megan E. Singh, NIDDK

The Body Weight Simulator Creators

For development of an accurate weight management tool with a positive impact on human health that is globally accessible to individuals, researchers, and policy makers.

  • Dhruva Chandramohan, NIDDK
  • Carson C. Chow, NIDDK
  • Kevin D. Hall, NIDDK

Cystic Fibrosis Program Leaders

For exceptional leadership of translational research on cystic fibrosis.

  • Susan P. Banks-Schlegel, NHLBI
  • Catherine Mckeon, NIDDK

Individual Awards

For development of cutting edge, non-invasive imaging technologies permitting drastically improved resolution and disease detection while reducing the risks to patients.

  • Ahmed M. Gharib, NIDDK

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Robert W. Karp, NIDDK


  • Camille M. Hoover, NIDDK
  • Deborah S. Kassilke, NIDDK
  • Catherine Mckeon, NIDDK
  • Rebekah S. Rasooly, NIDDK