Skip to main content

2016 National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2016 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Camille Hoover, NIDDK

Common Fund Leadership

Group Awards

Stimulating Peripheral Activity To Relieve Conditions (SPARC) Working Group

In recognition of outstanding leadership, creativity and collaboration to launch the Stimulating Peripheral Activity to Relieve Conditions (SPARC) program.

  • Jill Carrington, NIDDK
  • Wen Chen, NCCIH
  • James Coulombe, NICHD
  • Robert Elliott, CSR
  • Thomas Esch, NIAID
  • Kristina Faulk, OD
  • Weiniu Gan, NHLBI
  • James Gnadt, NINDS
  • Daniel Gossett, NIDDK
  • Robert Harriman, OD
  • Albert Lee, NHLBI
  • Xiao-Zhong Luo, NHLBI
  • Matthew Mcmahon, NHLBI
  • Roger Miller, NIDCD
  • Michael Oshinsky, NINDS
  • Vinay Pai, NIBIB
  • Grace Peng, NIBIB
  • Mary Perry, OD
  • David Shurtleff, NCCIH
  • Roger Sorensen, NIDA
  • Danilo Tagle, NCATS
  • Edmund Talley, NINDS
  • Karen Teff, NIDDK
  • Siavash Vaziri, NCATS
  • Michael Weinrich, NICHD
  • Yantian Zhang, NCI


Group Awards

Accelerating Medicines Partnership For Type 2 Diabetes Project Team

For leadership of the Accelerating Medicines Partnership for type 2 diabetes and creation of a knowledge portal to advance international research in type 2 diabetes.

  • Beena Akolkar, NIDDK
  • Olivier Blondel, NIDDK
  • Philip Smith, NIDDK

Individual Awards

For outstanding research achievement in understanding the structure and function of bacterial outer-membrane transporters, which leads to new approaches for vaccine and antibiotics development.

  • Susan Buchanan, NIDDK

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Paul L. Kimmel, NIDDK


  • Edward Doo, NIDDK
  • Paul Kimmel, NIDDK
  • Averell Sherker, NIDDK


  • Andrew Bremer, NIDDK
  • Francisco Calvo, NIDDK
  • Jill Carrington, NIDDK
  • Megan Singh, NIDDK