Skip to main content

2018 National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2018 award results. See awards for the current year.


Group Awards

Optimizing FEVS Team

For the strategic creation and sharing of EVS ART, resulting in improved data for decision-making, significant fiscal efficiencies, and meaningful employee-based initiatives government-wide.

  • Camille Hoover, NIDDK
  • Robin J. Klevins, NIDDK
  • Vy Tran, NIDDK

Workgroup Promoting Medical Student Research Experience In Diabetes Centers

For establishing an opportunity for medical students across the country to do a research project at an NIDDK funded Diabetes Research Center emphasizing under-represented groups.

  • Arthur L. Castle, NIDDK
  • Christine Hunter, OD
  • James F. Hyde, NIDDK
  • Pamela Thornton, NIDDK


Group Awards


For developing a portal to promote dissemination and authentication of research resources. DKNET enables researchers to find resources such as mouse strains, antibodies, or datasets.

  • Kristin Abraham, NIDDK
  • Arthur L. Castle, NIDDK
  • Corinne Silva, NIDDK
  • Xujing Wang, NIDDK

Individual Awards

In recognition of paradigm-shifting experimental approaches and findings regarding genetic recombination in mammals.

  • Rafael Camerini-Otero, NIDDK

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Paul Kimmel, NIDDK
  • Salina Waddy, NIDDK


  • Guillermo Arreaza-Rubin, NIDDK
  • Deborah Hoshizaki, NIDDK
  • Christian J. Ketchum, NIDDK
  • Sheryl M. Sato, NIDDK
  • Robert A. Star, NIDDK


  • Maren R. Laughlin, NIDDK


  • Teresa Jones, NIDDK


  • Devon T. Drew, NIDDK
  • Camille Hoover, NIDDK
  • Jennie Larkin, NIDDK
  • Traci M. Melvin, NIDDK