Skip to main content

2021 National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2021 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Claire E. Le Pichon, NICHD


Group Awards

Blueprint Neuroimaging Workshop Planning Committee

For exceptional scientific expertise, collegiality and dexterity in organizing and conducting the virtual workshop "Addressing Neuroimaging Challenges across Populations and Settings".

  • Dena J. Fischer, NIDCR
  • Michelle P. Freund, NIDA
  • Stacia R. Friedman-Hill, NIMH
  • Patrick S. Frost Bellgowan, NINDS
  • Kimberly A. Gray, NIEHS
  • Deborah B. Henken, NICHD
  • John K. Hsiao, NIA
  • Alice Shwu M. Kau, NICHD
  • Tracy M. King, NICHD
  • David I. Leitman, NIMH
  • Guoying Liu, NIBIB
  • Kathleen M. Mann Koepke, NICHD
  • John A. Matochik, NIAAA
  • Ralph M. Nitkin, NICHD
  • Amanda J. Price, NICHD
  • Khara M. Ramos, NINDS
  • Merav Sabri, NCCIH
  • Dana M. Schloesser, OD
  • Elliot A. Stein, NIDA
  • Lois A. Tully, NINR
  • Cheryl L. Wiggs, NEI

NICHD Section on Vertebrate Organogenesis COVID Management Team

For outstanding support to assure safe continuance of lab operations during the COVID pandemic.

  • Daniel A. Castranova, NICHD
  • Aniket V. Gore, NICHD
  • Van N. Pham, NICHD

Individual Awards

For exceptional and sustained leadership, and numerous NIH-wide contributions to grants management policy and outreach.

  • Bryan Clark, NICHD

For sustained superior performance, numerous NIH-wide contributions, and leadership in the NIH training community to promote extramural training activities, training policy, and biomedical workforce development.

  • Dennis A. Twombly, NICHD

In recognition of her efforts in managing the return to the physical workspace and attendance schedules.

  • Sara K. King, NICHD


Individual Awards

For exceptional contributions to understanding the development of neural circuits within the mammalian hippocampal and cortical formations under both physiological and pathophysiological conditions.

  • Christopher J. McBain, NICHD

For seminal discoveries on glycogen storage disease types Ia and Ib, from elucidating genetic basis, disease pathogenesis, developing therapy, to preclinical studies and clinical trials.

  • Janice J. Chou, NICHD

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Elizabeth M. Baden, NICHD
  • Valerie A. Cotton, NICHD
  • James N. Coulombe, NICHD
  • Rohan Hazra, NICHD
  • Bill G. Kapogiannis, NICHD


  • Rohan Hazra, NICHD


  • Elizabeth M. Baden, NICHD
  • Andrew A. Bremer, NICHD
  • Matthew J. Breymaier, NICHD
  • Regina M. Bures, NICHD
  • Alison N. Cernich, NICHD
  • Fountane W. Chan, NICHD
  • Juanita J. Chinn, NICHD
  • Bryan S. Clark, NICHD
  • An N. Dang Do, NICHD
  • Ann Rose Greenberg, NICHD
  • Bill G. Kapogiannis, NICHD
  • Marion W. Koso-Thomas, NICHD
  • Sonia S. Lee, NICHD
  • Issel Anne L. Lim, NICHD
  • Sai P. Majji, NICHD
  • Susan F. Marden, NICHD
  • Susan T. McClure, NICHD
  • John H. Moye, NICHD
  • Louis A. Quatrano, NICHD
  • Blaise A. Stearns, NICHD
  • Gisela T. Storz, NICHD
  • Karen K. Winer, NICHD