Skip to main content

2021 National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2021 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Darlene E. Lee, NIGMS


Group Awards

NIGMS and NIH OB Program Evaluation Team

For exemplary leadership and coordination in executing the collection, execution, and obligation of Program Evaluation Funds.

  • William J. Lazaro, OD
  • Charles A. Moore, NIGMS
  • Paula J. Powell, NIGMS
  • Cecile C. Shaya, OD
  • Kevin M. Stoehr, OD
  • Lisa A. Tetter, NIGMS
  • Millicent S. Williams, NIGMS
  • Kathryn M. Zaletel, NIGMS

Trans-NIH Data Collection and Trainee Outcomes Optimization Team

For exemplary performance in developing and implementing innovative enhancements to eRA's xTRAIN and xTRACT modules to reduce the administrative burden on extramural trainees.

  • Olukemi O. Adetayo, NIGMS
  • Oleg A. Barski, NIGMS
  • Jade B. Blevins, OD
  • Erica L. Brown, NIGMS
  • Patrick H. Brown, NIGMS
  • Miles A. Fabian, NIGMS
  • Christina L. Fleming, NIGMS
  • Alison E. Gammie, NIGMS
  • Kenneth D. Gibbs, NIGMS
  • James M. Goodman, OD
  • Anastasiya S. Hardison, OD
  • Brett M. Hodgkins, NIGMS
  • Sailaja Koduri, NIGMS
  • Andrew C. Miklos, NIGMS
  • Aleksandr V. Naneyshvili, NIGMS
  • Grace Y. Olascoaga, NIGMS
  • Christy Tran, NIGMS
  • Amanda J. Wingo, OD
  • Dana Zhang, OD


Group Awards

NIGMS and ORWH Women's Health Disparities Research Team

For extraordinary vision and collaboration in strengthening women's health and health disparities research in IDeA states.

  • Janine A. Clayton, OD
  • Regine A. Douthard, OD
  • Judith H. Greenberg, NIGMS
  • Zuzana Justinova, NIGMS
  • Christine S. Leake, NIGMS

Sepsis Reasearch Priorities Implementation Group

In recognition of driving innovative scientific investment by reprioritizing NIGMS' research funding to advance research on understanding sepsis at NIH.

  • Alison E. Cole, NIGMS
  • Sarah E. Dunsmore, NCATS
  • Hongwei Gao, NIGMS
  • Judith H. Greenberg, NIGMS
  • Donna M. Krasnewich-Vostal, NIGMS
  • Rochelle M. Long, NIGMS
  • Amanda A. Melillo, NIDCR
  • Veerasamy Ravichandran, NIGMS
  • Paul J. Sammak, NIGMS
  • Claire E. Schulkey, OD
  • Scott D. Somers, NIGMS
  • Xiaoli Zhao, NIGMS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Ming Lei, NIGMS
  • Michele A. McGuirl, NIGMS


  • Oleg A. Barski, NIGMS


  • Richard A. Aragon, NIGMS
  • Federico Bernal, NIGMS
  • Sheila A. Caldwell, NIGMS
  • Behrous Davani, NIGMS
  • Lashawn R. Gaillard, NIGMS
  • Hongwei Gao, NIGMS
  • Ruth S. Grossman, NIGMS
  • Daniel E. Janes, NIGMS
  • Zuzana Justinova, NIGMS
  • Andrea M. Keane-Myers, NIGMS
  • Dmitriy V. Krepkiy, NIGMS
  • John J. Laffan, NIGMS
  • Ming Lei, NIGMS
  • Michele A. McGuirl, NIGMS
  • Grace Y. Olascoaga, NIGMS
  • Eileen N. Oni, NIGMS
  • Sonia I. Ortiz-Miranda, NIGMS
  • Paul J. Sammak, NIGMS
  • Margaret L. Schnoor, NIGMS
  • Lee W. Slice, NIGMS
  • Dorit Zuk, NIGMS