Skip to main content

2022 Public Health Service Commissioned Corps (PHS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2022 award results. See awards for the current year.

Outstanding Service Medal

Individual Awards

Continuous leadership in supporting and advancing critical evaluation and development of therapeutic interventions for COVID-19.

  • CAPT Gregory Deye, NIAID

For exceptional scientific leadership and management of the Office of AIDS Research Science Team to advance the NIH HIV research agenda.

  • CAPT Mary Glenshaw, OD

For outstanding leadership on scientific investigations that directly led to approval of novel COVID-19 treatment including remdesivir and baricitinib.

  • CAPT Kay Tomashek, NIAID

For outstanding service and leadership serving as Chief Pharmaceutical Procurement for the NIH Clinical Center during the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • CDR Fortin Georges, CC

For continuous outstanding leadership in the Childhood Cancer Survivor Study first cancer analysis.

  • CDR David Gianferante, NCI

For exceptional leadership in COVID vaccine and prevention research leading to major public health impacts.

  • CDR Julia Hutter, NIAID

For exemplary leadership and contributions for supporting NIH COVID-19 research initiatives focused on addressing health disparities.

  • CDR Nadra Tyus, OD

For scientific leadership in HPTN 083 & 084 resulting in the licensure of long acting Cabotegravir as APRETUDE by the FDA for HIV pre-exposure prophylaxis.

  • LCDR Adeola Adeyeye, NIAID

Outstanding Unit Citation

Group Awards

Editors Team of the 2021 textbook on the Science of Health Disparities Research

For exemplary leadership and outstanding contributions as editors of the 2021 textbook on The Science of Health Disparities Research.

  • LT Adelaida Rosario, NIMHD
  • LCDR Xinzhi Zhang, NHLBI