Skip to main content

2012 National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2012 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Craig D. Blackstone, NINDS


Group Awards

NINDS/NHLBI LeveragingEfficiencies Team

For outstanding contributions to the goal of creating eficiencies in administrative areas to increase resources for science.

  • Sohail B. Butt, NHLBI
  • Rita W. Devine, NINDS
  • Yang C. Fann, NINDS
  • Laurie A. Jarvis, NINDS
  • Christine Lam, NINDS
  • James O'Malley, NINDS
  • Gary L. Unger, NHLBI
  • Cheryl A. Wood, NINDS


Group Awards

Team Neuronext

For achievement in the novel application of Scientific principles and methods to improve the efficency of multi-center trials and accelerate evaluation of new neurological treatments.

  • Janice R. Cordell, NINDS
  • Mihaela C. Frincu, NINDS
  • Petra Kaufmann, NINDS
  • Dawn E. Mcneil, NINDS
  • Claudia S. Moy, NINDS
  • Alice L. Ritz, NINDS
  • Jamie N. Roberts, NINDS

NIH Blueprint Neurotherapeutics Team

For the exemplary and speedy establishment of a robust "virtual pharma" infrastructure and novel funding mechanism to execute drug development projects through to clinical testing.

  • Neeraj Agarwal, NEI
  • Selena L. Arrants, NINDS
  • Annette Carter, NIDA
  • Charles L. Cywin, NINDS
  • Jamie D. Driscoll, NIMH
  • Rebecca M. Farkas, NINDS
  • Rosemarie Filart, NCATS
  • Robert Finkelstein, NINDS
  • Nancy L. Freeman, NIDCD
  • Elizabeth Geiger, OD
  • Thomas N. Greenwell, NEI
  • Amelie K. Gubitz, NINDS
  • Jill E. Heemskerk, NINDS
  • Jon'Lethia A. King, OD
  • Elena V. Koustova, NIDA
  • Cindy P. Lawler, NIEHS
  • Jenna J. Linde, NIAID
  • Alvin R. Little, NIMH
  • Qi-Ying Liu, NIAAA
  • William E. Lyons, NINDS
  • Linda M. Mcgavern, NINDS
  • Enrique L. Michelotti, NIMH
  • Michele N. Pearson, NIMH
  • Lawrence M. Refolo, NIA
  • Zhaoxia Ren, NICHD
  • Ming L. Shih, NIDA
  • David Shurtleff, NIDA
  • Christina M. Vert, NINDS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Yuan Liu, NINDS


  • Janice R. Cordell, NINDS
  • Deborah G. Hirtz, NINDS
  • Laura A. Mamounas, NINDS


  • Courtney F. Aklin, NINDS
  • Walter J. Koroshetz, NINDS
  • Salina P. Waddy, NINDS