Skip to main content

2016 National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2016 award results. See awards for the current year.


Group Awards

Single Cell Analysis Challenge Team

For extraordinary work developing and implementing the.

  • David Balasundaram, CSR
  • Ravikumar Basavappa, OD
  • Andrea Beckel-Mitchener, NIMH
  • Richard Conroy, NIBIB
  • Alvin Little, NIDA
  • Cathy Ng, NIMH
  • David Panchision, NIMH
  • Roderic Pettigrew, NIBIB
  • Erin Shannon, NIMH
  • Yong Yao, NIMH

NIH Neurobiobank Team

For the invaluable contributions of the NIH NeuroBioBank team to accelerating brain research through increased access to high quality tissue.

  • Michelle Freund, NIMH
  • Alvin Little, NIDA
  • Cathy Ng, NIMH
  • Anna Taylor, NINDS

Common Fund Leadership

Group Awards

GTEX Implementation Team

In recognition of outstanding leadership in developing and guiding the National Institutes of Health Common Fund GTEx project.

  • Anjene Addington, NIMH
  • Ping Guan, NCI
  • Susan Koester, NIMH
  • Alvin Little, NIDA
  • Nicole Lockhart, NHGRI
  • Casey Martin, NHGRI
  • Helen Moore, NCI
  • Abhilasha Rao, NCI
  • Jeffery Struewing, NHGRI
  • Simona Volpi, NHGRI


Individual Awards

For oustanding research on the relationship between sex steroids, stress, and mood, and outreach to the public about the importance of this research.

  • Peter Schmidt, NIMH

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Heather Coulter, NIMH


  • Gregory Farber, NIMH


  • Shelli Avenevoli, NIMH
  • Meredith Fox, NIMH