Skip to main content

2019 National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2019 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Anne Sumner, NIDDK


Group Awards

The NIH Nutrition Strategic Research Leadership Team

In recognition of their exceptional leadership in developing the first ever NIH Strategic Plan for Nutrition Research that represents current priorities in NIH-supported nutrition research.

  • Rachel Ballard, OD
  • Kimberly Barch, NIDDK
  • Andrew Bremer, NICHD
  • Mary Cutting, NIDCR
  • Cindy D. Davis, OD
  • Abby Ershow, OD
  • Mary Evans, NIDDK
  • Rachel A. Fisher, NIDDK
  • Victor Kipnis, NCI
  • Christopher Lynch, NIDDK
  • Andrew S. Narva, NIDDK
  • Charlotte A. Pratt, NHLBI
  • Daniel J. Raiten, NICHD
  • Megan E. Singh, NIDDK
  • Amy Subar, NCI
  • Ashley Vargas, OD

Individual Awards

For outstanding achievements in fully characterizing and exploiting genome editing technologies to understand super-enhancer function and hormone-controlled gene regulation during pregnancy.

  • Lothar Hennighausen, NIDDK

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Camille Hoover, NIDDK


  • Christopher V. Mullins, NIDDK


  • Susan K. Buchanan, NIDDK
  • Deborah M. Hinton, NIDDK
  • Camille Hoover, NIDDK
  • Peggy Hsieh, NIDDK
  • Paul Kimmel, NIDDK
  • Ellen Leschek, NIDDK
  • Tsanyang Liang, NIDDK
  • Jose Serrano, NIDDK