Skip to main content

2015 National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2015 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Carlos A. Zarate, NIMH


Group Awards

NIH Brain Initiative Review Team

For the invaluable contributions of the NIMH/NINDS BRAIN Initiative Review Team on the peer review of BRAIN research applications in 2014.

  • David M. Armstrong, NIMH
  • William C. Benzing, NINDS
  • Vinod D. Charles, NIMH
  • Mihaela C. Frincu, NINDS
  • Rebecca S. Garcia, NIMH
  • Megan E. Kinnane, NIMH
  • Xiang Ning Li, CSR
  • William E. Lyons, NINDS
  • David W. Miller, NIMH
  • Birgit Neuhuber, NINDS
  • Shantadurg Rajaram, NINDS
  • Raul A. Saavedra, NINDS
  • Varsha Shukla, NINDS
  • Natalia V. Strunnikova, NINDS
  • Elizabeth A. Webber, NINDS


Group Awards

Army Starrs Team

For exceptional commitment and leadership in support of the Army Study To Assess Risk and Resilience in Servicemembers (Army STARRS) across the six-year project period.

  • Susan E. Borja, NIMH
  • James D. Churchill, NIMH
  • Rebecca D. Claycamp, NIMH
  • Lisa J. Colpe, NIMH
  • Robert K. Heinssen, NIMH
  • Jane Z. Lin, NIMH
  • Jane L. Pearson, NIMH
  • Beverly A. Pringle, NIMH
  • Kevin J. Quinn, NIMH
  • Michaelle B. Scanlon, NIMH
  • Michael L. Schoenbaum, NIMH
  • Joanne B. Severe, NIMH
  • Jane A. Steinberg, NIMH
  • Philip S. Wang, NIMH

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Joseph Snow, NIMH
  • Angela C. Summers, NIMH


  • Thomas J. Burgin, NIMH
  • John S. Harris, NIMH


  • Nancy L. Desmond, NIMH


  • David M. Panchision, NIMH


  • Thomas Lehner, NIMH


  • Christopher M. Gordon, NIMH


  • David O. Black, NIMH
  • Audrey E. Thurm, NIMH


  • Kathleen C. Anderson, NIMH
  • Shelli Avenevoli, NIMH
  • Stacia R. Friedman Hill, NIMH


  • Andrea C. Beckel Mitchener, NIMH


  • Susannah M. Kamath, NIMH
  • Kathleen M. O'Leary, NIMH