Skip to main content

2015 National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2015 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Mark Hallett, NINDS


Group Awards

National Pain Strategy Group

For the cross-organizational efforts to develop the National Pain Strategy which seeks to reduce the prevalence of pain disorders and reduce the burden of pain.

  • Chester Buckenmaier Iii, NINDS
  • Charles Helmick Iii, NINDS
  • Sharon Hertz, NINDS
  • Audrey Kusiak, NINDS
  • John W. Kusiak, NIDCR
  • Story C. Landis, NINDS
  • Lauren N. Love, NINDS
  • Sean C. Mackey, NINDS
  • Susan E. Maier, OD
  • Linda L. Porter, NINDS
  • Richard Ricciardi, NINDS
  • Cheryse A. Sankar, NINDS
  • Tara A. Schwetz, OD
  • David A. Thomas, NIDA
  • Salina P. Waddy, NINDS

Individual Awards

For paradigm shifting research in mitochondrial dynamics and cell death leading to new insights about neurodegenerative disease and new therapeutic strategies.

  • Richard J. Youle, NINDS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Avindra Nath, NINDS
  • Sally R. Steinbach, NINDS
  • Rita Volochayev, NINDS


  • Margaret L. Sutherland, NINDS


  • John D. Heiss, NINDS
  • Ariane G. Soldatos, NINDS


  • William C. Benzing, NINDS
  • Mihaela C. Frincu, NINDS
  • William E. Lyons, NINDS
  • Birgit Neuhuber, NINDS
  • Shantadurg Rajaram, NINDS
  • Raul A. Saavedra, NINDS
  • Varsha Shukla, NINDS
  • Natalia V. Strunnikova, NINDS
  • Elizabeth A. Webber, NINDS


  • Courtney F. Aklin, NINDS
  • Stephanie J. Fertig, NINDS
  • Rebecca A. Roof, NINDS
  • Shai D. Silberberg, NINDS