Skip to main content

2016 National Cancer Institute (NCI) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2016 award results. See awards for the current year.

The Alan S. Rabson Award for Clinical Care

Individual Awards

For scientific and medical excellence and the outstanding, compassionate care for patients and those who love them.

  • Deborah Citrin, NCI


Group Awards

Enterprise Solutions Team Of The Office Of Science And Technology Resources

For developing the CCR Research Exchange, a comprehensive platform empowering NCI investigators by connecting them with cutting-edge resources from a global network of research partners.

  • David Goldstein, NCI
  • Mariam Malik, NCI


Group Awards

NCI-NHLBI Cancer Treatment-Related Cardiotoxicity Team

For extraordinary contributions to cancer and cardiovascular research through the development and implementation of a comprehensive, multi-institute approach to improve outcomes in cancer treatment-related cardiotoxicity.

  • Bishow Adhikari, NHLBI
  • Patrice Desvigne-Nickens, NHLBI
  • Eileen Dimond, NCI
  • Andrew Freedman, NCI
  • Myrtle Millin, NCI
  • Lori Minasian, NCI
  • Nonniekaye Shelburne, NCI
  • Heng Xie, NCI

CCR Science Board

For exceptionally insightful and diligent guidance, oversight, and leadership in developing scientific projects that will shape the future of the NCI intramural program.

  • Brenda Boersma-Maland, NCI
  • William Dahut, NCI
  • Mark Gilbert, NCI
  • Frank Gonzalez, NCI
  • Ronald Gress, NCI
  • James Gulley, NCI
  • Kathleen Kelly, NCI
  • Javed Khan, NCI
  • Crystal Mackall, NCI
  • Glenn Merlino, NCI
  • Thomas Misteli, NCI
  • Nicholas Restifo, NCI
  • Lawrence Samelson, NCI
  • Joel Schneider, NCI
  • Patricia Steeg, NCI
  • Jeffrey Strathern, NCI
  • Giorgio Trinchieri, NCI
  • Mark Udey, NCI
  • Kylie Walters, NCI
  • Brigitte Widemann, NCI

Individual Awards

For exceptional research and leadership efforts providing critical advances in understanding rare diseases and developing novel therapies for pediatric cancer patients.

  • Lee Helman, NCI

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Malcolm A. Smith, NCI


  • Yantian Zhang, NCI


  • Ping Guan, NCI
  • Helen Moore, NCI
  • Abhilasha Rao, NCI


  • L Michelle Bennett, NCI
  • Jerry Collins, NCI
  • Pamela Harris, NCI
  • Caron Lyman, NCI
  • Somdat Mahabir, NCI
  • Tamara Walton, NCI