Skip to main content

2017 National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2017 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Daniel L. Kastner, NHGRI


Group Awards

NIH IRB Internship Program Team

For exceptional initiative in Enhancing the cultural competency and sensitivity of the NIH IRB Internship Program.

  • Rebecca E. Chen, CC
  • Renee D. Goodman, CC
  • Christine Grady, CC
  • Sara C. Hull, NHGRI
  • Reidar K. Lie, CC
  • Victoria L. Willits, NHGRI

Common Fund Leadership

Individual Awards

For insight, dedication and leadership toward advancing microbiome research at the NIH.

  • Lita M. Proctor, NHGRI


Individual Awards

For her 20+ years of dedicated service as an important part of the NHGRI team in support of the NIH mission.

  • Laura B. Pike, NHGRI


Individual Awards

In recognition of more than two decades of contributions related to the creation and curation of the Breast Cancer Information Core.

  • Lawrence C. Brody, NHGRI

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Paul Cheung, NHGRI
  • Valentina Di Francesco, NHGRI
  • Edson V. Mendonca, NHGRI
  • Samuel H. Moore, NHGRI
  • Emily E. Neveux, NHGRI
  • Anita N. Whitehurst, NHGRI


  • Charles E. Whitley, NHGRI


  • Lita M. Proctor, NHGRI


  • Paul Kruszka, NHGRI
  • Michael W. Smith, NHGRI