Skip to main content

2017 National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2017 award results. See awards for the current year.


Group Awards

NINDS Clinical Trials Unit

For outstanding contribution to the Clinical Trials Unit through increased efficieNCIes and reorganization, contributing to a state-of-the-art clinical research environment.

  • Dietrich Haubenberger, NINDS
  • Sandra B. Martin, NINDS

Porter Emergency Response Team

For immediate and heroic actions responding to an emergency situation at the Porter Neuroscience Research Center.

  • Daniel M. Austill, OD
  • Eric T. Austin, NINDS
  • Ronald D. Brown, OD
  • Israel L. Burch, OD
  • John E. Daffron, OD
  • Matthew R. Fowler, OD
  • Wayne A. James, OD
  • Darryl E. Lowery, OD
  • Jonathan L. Mattingly, OD
  • Daniel J. Mcmahon, OD
  • Roy D. Myers, OD
  • Michael S. Palatucci, OD
  • Kristopher J. Sharer, NINDS
  • Sandra M. Young, NINDS

NIH Blueprint And Brain Initiative Budget Management Team

For exceptional budget oversight over two trans-NIH projects, the NIH Blueprint and the BRAIN Initiative.

  • Saikrishna R. Basireddy, NINDS
  • Susan B. Free, NINDS
  • Teresa W. Grasso, NINDS
  • Elizabeth Ha, NINDS
  • Karunanithi Kandasamy, NINDS
  • Christine Lam, NINDS
  • Quynh N. Ly, NINDS
  • Karthik Mellachervu, NINDS
  • Paul R. Myers, NINDS
  • Hanh Nguyen, NINDS
  • Peter M. Soltys, NINDS
  • Matthew S. White, NINDS
  • Ephrem B. Zelelew, NINDS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Stephanie J. Fertig, NINDS


  • Michelle D. Jones-London, NINDS
  • David F. Owens, NINDS


  • Stephanie J. Fertig, NINDS