Skip to main content

2022 National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2022 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Erica Rosemond, NCATS

Common Fund Leadership

Group Awards

The Illuminating the Druggable Genome Program Leadership Team

For developing and managing the Illuminating the Druggable Genome Program resulting in significant advances in illuminating the roles of understudied proteins in human disease.

  • Severn Churn, NINDS
  • Christine Colvis, NCATS
  • Abir Malik, NCATS
  • Ronald Margolis, NIDDK
  • Mehdi Mesri, NCI
  • Enrique Michelotti, NIMH
  • Laurie Nadler, NIMH
  • Aaron Pawlyk, NICHD
  • Ajay Pillai, NHGRI
  • Steven Pittenger, NCATS
  • Karlie Sharma, NCATS
  • Douglas Sheeley, OD
  • Ashley Xia, NIDDK

Mission Support

Group Awards

NCATS Facilities Team

For extraordinary efforts to maintain NCATS intramural operations during the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • Salvatore Mazza, NCATS
  • Jonathan Musselman, NCATS


Group Awards

Establishment of the 3D Tissue Bioprinting Laboratory Team

For the establishment of the NCATS 3D Tissue Bioprinting Laboratory, a collaborative hub to develop engineered 3D tissues for disease modeling and predictive therapeutics development.

  • Krishna Balakrishnan, NCATS
  • Kapil Bharti, NEI
  • Paige Derr, NCATS
  • Kristy Derr-Mierzwa, NCATS
  • Marc Ferrer-Alegre, NCATS
  • Ann Knebel, NCATS
  • Samuel Michael, NCATS
  • Lillianne Portilla Weingarten, NCATS
  • Russell Quinn, NEI
  • Anna Ramsey Ewing, NCATS
  • Dobrila Rudnicki, NCATS
  • Anton Simeonov, NCATS
  • Gurusingham Sittampalam, NCATS
  • Min Jae Song, NCATS
  • Danilo Tagle, NCATS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Christine Colvis, NCATS
  • Matthew Hall, NCATS
  • Andrew Kelly, NCATS
  • Taylor Lee, NCATS
  • Joanne Lumsden, NCATS
  • Philip Sanderson, NCATS


  • Jane Atkinson, NCATS


  • Hillary Flowers, NCATS


  • Jennifer Beierlein, NCATS


  • Jane Atkinson, NCATS
  • Cynthia Boucher, NCATS
  • Samuel Bozzette, NCATS
  • Kyle Brimacombe, NCATS
  • Soju Chang, NCATS
  • Catherine Chen, NCATS
  • Christine Colvis, NCATS
  • Annjeannette Cruz-Albertorio, NCATS
  • Christine Cutillo, NCATS
  • Mariam Deacy, NCATS
  • James Dickens, NCATS
  • Kevin Duerr, NCATS
  • Sarah Dunsmore, NCATS
  • Richard Eastman, NCATS
  • Aaron Friedman, NCATS
  • Ami Gadhia, NCATS
  • Matthew Hall, NCATS
  • Shadab Hussain, NCATS
  • Haksong Jin, NCATS
  • Samantha Jonson, NCATS
  • Jasmine Kalsi, NCATS
  • Michael Kurilla, NCATS
  • Brian Lind, NCATS
  • Joanne Lumsden, NCATS
  • Samuel Michael, NCATS
  • Elizabeth Ottinger, NCATS
  • Brittany Poelaert, NCATS
  • Lillianne Portilla Weingarten, NCATS
  • Philip Sanderson, NCATS
  • Eric Sid, NCATS
  • Jessica Springer, NCATS
  • Suryanarayana Vepa, NCATS
  • Kanny Wan, NCATS
  • Miao Xu, NCATS
  • Tongan Zhao, NCATS