Skip to main content

2022 National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2022 award results. See awards for the current year.


Group Awards

NIH Blueprint D-SPAN F99/K00 Team

For outstanding administration of an innovative program to support transition of underrepresented graduate students from neuroscience postdoctoral positions to goal of becoming independent neuroscience researchers.

  • Crystal Anderson, NINDS
  • Albert Avila, NIDA
  • William Benzing, NINDS
  • Roger Campbell, NINDS
  • Lataisia Jones, NINDS
  • Michelle Jones-London, NINDS
  • Lynn King, NIDCR
  • Stephen Korn, NINDS
  • Marguerite Matthews, NINDS
  • Lauren Ullrich, NINDS
  • Ashlee Van't Veer, NIMH

NINDS BEACON Program for Nurses Committee

For exemplary leadership and creativity in creating BEACON, a program to build engagement and community for nurses.

  • Frances Andrada, NINDS
  • Elizabeth Bartrum, NINDS
  • Kaitlyn Benson, NINDS
  • Eugena Bergvall, CC
  • Maureen Gormley, NINDS
  • Rosalind Hayden, NINDS
  • Avindra Nath, NINDS
  • Joan Ohayon, NINDS
  • Mary Sofranko, NINDS
  • Andrea Varea, NINDS

RECOVER Initiative Outreach, Engagement, and Communications Team

For extraordinary leadership of and contribution to the outreach, engagement, and communications activities of the Trans-NIH RECOVER Initiative.

  • Hillary Archer, NHLBI
  • Ryan Calabrese, NINDS
  • Amanda Fine, OD
  • Natalie Frazin, NINDS
  • Alissa Gallagher, NINDS
  • Lauren Hochman, NHLBI
  • Lenora Johnson, NHLBI
  • Andrea Lerner, NIAID
  • Barbara McMakin, NINDS
  • Renate Myles, OD
  • Amy Patterson, NHLBI


Group Awards

EPPIC-Net Team

For sustained and exceptional performance in the development and funding of early phase clinical trials for non-addictive pain therapeutics through the EPPIC-Net program.

  • Jennifer Barnes, NINDS
  • Jennifer Beierlein, NCATS
  • Carlos Faraco, NINDS
  • Rebecca Hommer, NINDS
  • Barbara Karp, NINDS
  • Rosa Lopez-Lemus, NINDS
  • Marilyn Moore-Hoon, NINDS
  • Ana Olariu, NINDS
  • Marlene Peters Lawrence, NINDS
  • Erna Petrich, NINDS
  • Shantadurga Rajaram, NINDS
  • Tjerignimin Silue, NINDS
  • Clinton Wright, NINDS

NeuroCOVID Team

In recognition of their work rapidly establishing the NIH/NYU NeuroCOVID Database/Biobank to inform understanding of COVID-19 neurological complications and effects on neurological conditions.

  • Jennifer Beierlein, NCATS
  • Rebecca Hommer, NINDS
  • Barbara Karp, NINDS
  • Maria Mendoza-Puccini, NINDS
  • Marlene Peters Lawrence, NINDS
  • Clinton Wright, NINDS

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Severn Churn, NINDS


  • Carsten Bonnemann, NINDS


  • Emily Caporello, NINDS
  • Sara Dauber, NINDS
  • Sarah Robinson Schwartz, NINDS
  • Natalie Trzcinski, NINDS


  • Christine Koch-Paiz, NINDS


  • Richard Benson, NINDS
  • Sara Dodson, NINDS


  • Irene Adams, NINDS
  • Elizabeth Bartrum, NINDS
  • Jeremy Brown, NINDS
  • Erin Bryant, NINDS
  • Michaela Cortes, NINDS
  • Mary Kay Floeter, NINDS
  • Ladifatou Fouanta, NINDS
  • Cesar Garzon, NINDS
  • Jordan Gladman, NINDS
  • Margaret Hayward, NINDS
  • Sadhana Jackson, NINDS
  • Christine Jones, NINDS
  • Angela Kokkinis, NINDS
  • Walter Koroshetz, NINDS
  • Marguerite Matthews, NINDS
  • Nina Schor, NINDS
  • Jonathan Shoenig, NINDS
  • Gail Tarlton, NINDS
  • James Washington, NINDS
  • Clinton Wright, NINDS
  • Ariel Zane, NINDS