Skip to main content

2017 National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Awards

Viewing past awards

You are viewing 2017 award results. See awards for the current year.

Ruth L. Kirschstein Mentoring Award

Individual Awards

For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

  • Albert H. Avila, NIDA


Individual Awards

For exceptional executive leadership to critical NIH and HHS initiatives and for promoting transparency, communication, and inclusion at NIDA.

  • Joellen M. Austin, NIDA


Individual Awards

For her extraordinary vision, efforts and successes in bridging the research-to-practice gap for addictive disorders.

  • Chung-Yui B. Tai, NIDA

Recognition Across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


  • Gregg A. Friedman, NIDA


  • Gloria L. Dabbondanza, NIDA
  • Stacey L. Gills, NIDA


  • Maureen P. Boyle, NIDA
  • Nora D. Volkow, NIDA
  • Eric M. Wargo, NIDA


  • Berhane Yitbarek, NIDA


  • Kathleen E. Etz, NIDA


  • Elena V. Koustova, NIDA
  • Victor G. Prikhodko, NIDA